november 18, 2016 newsletter


Whitney Museum of American Art
Photo: Ed Lederman

The Whitney Museum has announced the list of the participating artists, duos, and collectives included in the 2017 Whitney Biennial. Curated by Christopher Y. Lew and Mia Locks, the roster for the biennial consists of 63 artists from 40 cities across the globe and represents a mix of well-established names, Larry Bell, William Pope.L and Anicka Yi, to emerging talents and collectives, including GCC and Postcommodity. The upcoming biennial is the first to take place in the museum’s new 18,200 square foot location in the Meatpacking District.

Full List of participating artists:

Zarouhie Abdalian
(New Orleans, LA), Basma Alsharif
(Los Angeles, CA), Jo Baer
(Amsterdam, Netherlands), Eric Baudelaire
(Paris, France), Robert Beavers
(Berlin, Germany / Falmouth, MA), Larry Bell
(Taos, NM / Los Angeles, CA), Matt Browning
(Seattle, WA), Susan Cianciolo
(Brooklyn, NY), Mary Helena Clark
(Hamilton, NY), John Divola
(Riverside, CA), Celeste Dupuy-Spencer
(Los Angeles, CA), Rafa Esparza
(Los Angeles, CA), Kevin Jerome Everson
(Charlottesville, VA), GCC
(Founded 2013), Oto Gillen
(New York, NY), Samara Golden
(Los Angeles, CA), Casey Gollan and Victoria Sobel
(New York, NY), Irena Haiduk
(n/a), Lyle Ashton Harris
(New York, NY), Tommy Hartung
(Queens, NY), Porpentine Charity Heartscape
(Oakland, CA), Sky Hopinka
(Milwaukee, WI), Shara Hughes
(Brooklyn, NY), Aaron Flint Jamison
(Portland, OR / Seattle, WA), KAYA
(Founded 2010), Jon Kessler
(New York, NY), James N. Kienitz Wilkins
(Brooklyn, NY), Ajay Kurian
(Brooklyn, NY), Deana Lawson
(Brooklyn, NY), An-My Lê
(Brooklyn, NY), Leigh Ledare
(New York, NY), Dani Leventhal
(Columbus, OH), Tala Madani
(Los Angeles, CA), Park McArthur
(New York, NY), Harold Mendez
(Chicago, IL and Los Angeles, CA), Carrie Moyer
(New York, NY), Ulrike Müller
(Brooklyn, NY), Julien Nguyen
(Los Angeles, CA), Tuan Andrew Nguyen
(Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam), Raúl de Nieves
(Brooklyn, NY), Aliza Nisenbaum
(New York, NY), Occupy Museums
(Founded 2011), William Pope.L
(Chicago, IL), Postcommodity
(Founded 2007), Puppies Puppies
(Roswell, NM), Asad Raza
(New York, NY), Jessi Reaves
(Brooklyn, NY), John Riepenhoff
(Milwaukee, WI), Chemi Rosado-Seijo
(San Juan and Naranjito, PR), Cameron Rowland
(Queens, NY), Beatriz Santiago Muñoz
(San Juan, PR), Dana Schutz
(Brooklyn, NY), Cauleen Smith
(Chicago, IL), Frances Stark
(Los Angeles, CA), Maya Stovall
(Detroit, MI), Henry Taylor
(Los Angeles, CA), Torey Thornton
(Brooklyn, NY), Leslie Thornton and James Richards
(Brooklyn, NY / lives in Berlin, Germany and London, UK), Kaari Upson
(Los Angeles, CA), Kamasi Washington
(Los Angeles, CA), Leilah Weinraub
(Los Angeles, CA / New York, NY), Jordan Wolfson
(New York, NY), and Anicka Yi
(Queens, NY).

Architect Frank Gehry and artist and designer Maya Lin among the recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom this year awarded by President Barack Obama. Other awardees this year included Ellen DeGeneres, Robert De Niro, Bill and Melinda Gates, Tom Hanks, Robert Redford, Diana Ross, and Bruce Springsteen, and Vin Scully. The awards will be presented at the White House on November 22nd.

The Dallas Museum of Art has announced the acquisition of Sam Gilliam‘s iconic “drape” painting, titled Leaf (1970), marking the first work by the African-American artist closely associated with the Washington Color School into the museum’s collection.

The Rema Hort Mann Foundation has announced the recipients of the 2016 Emerging Artist Grant in New York City. The finalists for the $10,000 unrestricted grant were selected from an initial list of 100 artists invited to apply for the grant in a closed-call nomination process-which included over 50 distinguished NYC-based curators and arts professionals. The jurors for the for the 2016 grant included Matthew Higgs, Susan Hort, David Humphrey, Carolyn Ramo, and Elisabeth Sherman. This year’s recipients are: Genesis Belanger, Teto Elsiddique, Anna Glantz, Joiri Minaya, Azikiwe Mohammed, Sara Murphy, Sondra Perry, and Adrianne Rubenstein. The Rema Hort Mann Foundation was established in 1996.

The Chrysler Museum of Art in Norfolk, Virginia, announced Kimberli Gant will be its McKinnon Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art. Gant is currently a Mellon Doctoral Fellow in its global African arts department at the Newark Museum in New Jersey, after previously serving as curator of exhibitions and public programs at the Museum of Contemporary African Diasporan Arts in Brooklyn. She is scheduled to begin in her new role mid-January.

The United States Artists (USA) announced recipients of the 2016Fellowships Awards. Established in 2006, the USA awards provide $50,000 fellowships each year to artists working in the fields of Architecture & Design, Crafts, Dance, Literature, Media, Music, Theater & Performance, Traditional Arts and Visual Arts. The year’s panel for Visual Arts, Naomi Beckwith, curator, MCA Chicago; Deanna Dikeman 2008 USA Booth Fellow in Visual Arts, Columbia, MO; and René Morales, (Chair) curator, Pérez Art Museum Miami awarded grants to Charles Atlas, Beatriz Santiago Muñoz, Senga Nengudi, Shirin Neshat, Winfred Rembert, and Laurie Jo Reynolds.

The Fort Wayne Museum of Art has announced a major gift of over 700 works with an estimated value of $6.2 million to its permanent collection. The gift includes over 200 paintings and more than 500 prints from the estate of American artist David Shapiro and is the largest in scale and value in the history of the Fort Wayne Museum of Art. In a formal statement, CEO and Chief Curator Charles Shepard described, “The full impact of David’s contributions to the aesthetics of American painting and printmaking in the late 20th-early 21st centuries has yet to be recognized. Alongside artists like Steven Sorman, Kenny Noland, Bob Mangold, and Frank Stella, David Shapiro’s deep and contemplative work advanced abstraction and serious art-making in an increasingly market-driven art world that prospered, predominantly, on sensationalism. The Fort Wayne Museum of Art is especially proud of being chosen by David’s estate to establish an extensive archive of his prints and paintings.”

The Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden announced plans to expand its collection with its first works by six leading international artists as part of a mission to expand the museum of modern and contemporary art into a more globally focused collection. The acquitions include works by Shirin Neshat, Krzysztof Wodiczko, Ed Atkins, Jacqueline Humphries and Enrico David and a gift of films by Jesper Just modern and contemporary art announced modern and contemporary art announced a gift of the artist and Sean and Mary Kelly, in honor of Barbara and Aaron Levine, “‘The Paradox of Content #1’ [Green],” (2009) by pioneering voice of conceptual art, Joseph Kosuth.

The Museum of Fine Arts, Boston announced a $24 million renovation that will create a 22,000-square-foot conservation center withsix laboratories on two floors of the museum’s main building. The renovation will r
esult in a reorganization that will open up an additional 12,000 square feet of gallery space for the museum. The project, the largest fundraising effort for conservation in the MFA’s 146-year history, is scheduled to begin in 2017 and conclude in 2019.