sept/oct 2016: news page

“Untitled,” 1996, Kenzi Shiokava. Installation view at: “Made in L.A. 2016: a, the, though, only” June 12 – August 28, 2016 Hammer Museum, Los Angeles.
Photo: Brian Forrest.

The Hammer Museum has announced the 2016 recipients of the Mohn Award, presented in conjunction with “Made in LA 2016: a, the, though, only,” organized this year by Hammer curator Aram Moshayedi and Hamza Walker, director of education and associate curator, Renaissance Society, Chicago. The $100,000 Mohn Award for artistic excellence was awarded to dancer and choreographer Adam Linder, who will also be the subject of a monograph produced by the Hammer. Wadada Leo Smith will receive the $25,000 Career Achievement Award honoring brilliance and resilience; and Kenzi Shiokava will receive the $25,000 Public Recognition Award as determined by a public vote.

Following a controversial academic year, during which seven of eight studio art students withdrew form the graduate program in protest, followed by a letter of support for the former students signed by 72 alumni of USC’s program, and the eventual withdrawal of the fina student, International Artist Fellow HaeAnn Kwon in June, the USC Roski School of Art and Design has announced a group faculty hire. The move is aimed at regenerating the program which fell from No. 36 in 2012 to 69 in U.S. News & World Report earlier this year as cited by Deborah Vankin for the Los Angeles Times. The group hire brings internationally recognized artists Suzanne Lacy, Edgar Arceneaux, Patty Chang, Keith Mayerson, and Kori Newkirk to join USC senior faculty this fall.

FRONT Exhibition Company announced a new international art triennial, titled FRONT International: Cleveland Exhibition for Contemporary Art to launch in 2018. Conceived by art collector Fred Bidwell, who served as interim director of the Cleveland Museum of Art in 2013 – 2014, and Chicago-based conceptual artist Michelle Grabner of Chicago and curator Jens Hoffmann who seek to challenge the conventional biennial or triennial exhibition model though this city-wide, multi-venue event. The DePaul University Art Museum has announced the gift of 114 works created by 59 Chicago-based artists from the collection of Chuck Thurow, former director of the Hyde Park Arts Center. Thurow, who built his collection during his tenure at the center from 1998-2010, donated works by Dawoud Bey, Phyllis Bramson, an early work from  Theaster Gates, Jim Lutes, Karl Wirsum and works by self-taught artists Mr. Imagination, Derek Webster and Stephen Warde Anderson to the museum.

The San Jose Museum of Art has received a major gift of 12 works of art from the collection of J. Michael Bewley of San Jose. The gift includes works by Robert Arneson, Christopher Brown, Squeak Carnwath, Lesley Dill, Enrique Chagoya, George Grosz, George Herms, and Fritz Scholder.

The NSU Art Museum Fort Lauderdale  announced the promised a gift of 100 works from the collection of David Horvitz and his wife, artist Francie Bishop Good. Horvitz, who serves as chairman of the museum’s board of governors, and his wife spent over two decades building the collection which predominantely features work by women and minority artists. The promised gift includes works by Cecily Brown, Tracey Emin, Teresita Fernandez, Nan Goldin, Barbara Kruger, Ana Mendieta, Catherine Opie, Cindy Sherman, Amy Sillman, Lorna Simpson, Kiki Smith, Mickalene Thomas, and Kara Walker.

Native Arts and Cultures Foundation (NACF) announced recipients of the 2016 National Artist Fellowship Award. Established in 2007, NACF began its granting program in 2010 and selected 16 artists in five categories selected from a national open call of American Indian, Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian artist applicants for its sixth annual award. Recipients for Visual Arts: Luzene Hill, Cannupa Hanska Luger, Brenda Mallory, Preston Singletary, and Visual Arts, Painting to Bunky Echo-Hawk and Mateo Romero.

Los Angeles County Museum of Art has announced the annual Art+Film Gala will honor artist Robert Irwin and Academy Award-winning filmmaker Kathryn Bigelow, with Leonardo DiCaprio serving as co-chair for the sixth year in a row at the event.

The San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA) announced artist Christian Marclay as the recipient of the annual SFMOMA Contemporary Vision Award, which celebrates achievements of global leaders “whose work foregrounds contemporary art as a vital and meaningful part of public life.” Marclay will be honored at a dinner held in the museum on Monday, October 17, 2016.


The Pérez Art Museum named three new deputy directors: Adrienne Chadwick for education; Melissa Cowley Wolf in development; and Christina Boomer Vazquez for marketing and public engagement. This announcement follows the July appointment of four new members to the museum’s board of trustees: Barron Channer, George Edwin Crapple, Adri Guha and Dorothy Terrell, under the leadership of the director Franklin Sirmans, who took the helm of the museum last fall.

In related news, Fellows of Contemporary Art (FOCA) recently announced a $65,000 award to Franklin Sirmans for the exhibition “Toba Khedoori,” which includes over 25 works by the LA-based artist. The show, curated by Sirmans during his tenure as curator and department head of contemporary art at LACMA, was organized in collaboration with PAMM and supported in part by FOCA.

The Eli and Edythe Broad Art Museum at Michigan State University (Broad MSU) has appointed Carla Acevedo-Yates, independent curator and critic from San Juan, P.R., as Assistant Curator.

Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art announced the appointment of Lauren Haynes as curator of contemporary art. She previously served as associate curator of the permanent collection at the Studio Museum in Harlem.